Street Law Kazakhstan

The “Street Law Kazakhstan” project is a project designed to teach human rights to secondary school students. This project was originally started by law professors at Georgetown University in the United States, where an experimental interactive course on human rights was developed. Law students taught this course in disadvantaged areas of Washington with high levels of child crime and violence against children, and as a result of this project, the crime rate dropped significantly over time. The project was implemented in other US States and 47 countries on all continents.

In Kazakhstan, this project was first organized in 1998 by Muhtarova Aizhan Kalisovna, a law teacher at the Caspian University, and started in Kazgua with the support of Shaikenov Nagashbay Amangaleevich, Kazgua teachers, secondary school teachers and law students. Unfortunately, the project was closed in 2005 due to insufficient funding. However, the Association of Shaikenov students decided to revive the project in 2019 due to its necessity, since in Kazakhstan up to 80% of children suffer from domestic violence, and 66% face violence in schools.

The aim of this project is to explain to children their rights and responsibilities, such as the age of responsibility for offences, and to provide courses on protection from violence and bullying. Children are helped to understand when someone is trying to involve them in a criminal or abusive relationship.

over the course of its existence, this project has achieved the following results:

  • issue of human rights manuals for grades 5-11 in Kazakh and Russian
  • conducting seminars on human rights with 1,661 teachers and 861 students in 14 regions of Kazakhstan
  • annual coverage of up to 1,200 students in 34 schools in Almaty with Kazakh and Russian languages of instruction, including 75 minors in LA 155/6 colony
  • annual interactive Olympiads on the Constitution of the Republic of Kazakhstan among schools participating in the Street Law – Kazakhstan program.

At the moment, 5 universities are interested in participating in this project: KIMEP, AlmaU, ETU, Caspian University and NARXOZ. In addition, five schools in Almaty are involved: Alliance School, BilimkanaAlmaty School, ETU Lyceum, Zerde, and gymnasium school No. 81 in Kazakh and Russian. Human rights courses are taught in these schools by 1st, 2nd, and 3rd year law students. Students work with trainers and gain teaching skills during this program, and students learn the material well thanks to exciting and interactive lessons in game mode. Children gain knowledge on 16 topics such as “norms of conduct in society,” the “Right to life”, “equality before the law”, “Equality of men and women”, “responsibility of minors”, and others.

This project has a solid, neat program with 7 years of experience, and it can be used in law schools and schools throughout Kazakhstan.


Открыть чат

Меню
Вверх
RU
EN KK
Street Law Kazakhstan

Проект “Street Law Kazakhstan” — это проект, предназначенный для обучения учеников средних школ правам человека. Этот проект был изначально открыт профессорами права в США, Georgetown University, где был разработан экспериментальный интерактивный курс по правам человека. Студенты-юристы преподавали этот курс в неблагополучных районах Вашингтона с высоким уровнем детской преступности и насилия в отношении детей, и, в результате этого проекта, со временем уровень преступности существенно упал. Проект был внедрен в других штатах США и 47 странах мира на всех континентах.

В Казахстане этот проект был впервые организован в 1998 году преподавателем права Каспийского Университета Мухтаровой Айжан Калисовной, и стартовал в КазГЮА при поддержке Шайкенова Нагашбая Амангалеевича, преподавателей КазГЮА, учителей средних школ и студентов-юристов. К сожалению, проект был закрыт в 2005 года из-за недостаточного финансирования. Однако, ОО “Ассоциация учеников Шайкенова” решили возродить проект в 2019 году ввиду его необходимости, так как в Казахстане до 80% детей страдают от насилия в семье, и 66% сталкиваются с насилием в школах.

Цель этого проекта заключается в объяснении детям их прав и обязанностей, таких как возраст ответственности за правонарушения, и проведении курсов по защите от насилия и буллинга. Детям помогают понять, когда кто-то пытается втянуть их в преступные и неправомерные отношения. 

За все свое время существования, этот проект достиг следующих результатов:

  • выпуск пособий по правам человека для 5-11 классов на казахском и русском языках
  • проведение семинаров по правам человека с 1661 учителями и 861 студентами в 14 регионах Казахстана
  • ежегодный охват до 1200 учеников в 34 школах Алматы с казахским и русским языками обучения, включая 75 несовершеннолетних в колонии ЛА 155/6
  • ежегодные интерактивные олимпиады по Конституции РК среди школ, состоящих в программе Street Law — Kazakhstan.

На данный момент, 5 университетов заинтересованы в участии в этом проекте: КИМЭП, AlmaU, ETU, Caspian University и NARXOZ. Помимо этого, задействованы пять школ Алматы: Alliance School, BilimkanaAlmaty School, ETU Lyceum, Zerde, школа-гимназия №81 на казахском и русском языках. Курс по правам человека преподается в этих школах студентами-юристами 1, 2, 3 курса. Студенты работают с тренерами и получают навыки преподавания в течение этой программы, а школьники хорошо усваивают материал благодаря увлекательным и интерактивным урокам в игровом режиме. Дети получают знания по 16 темам, такими как: «Нормы поведения в обществе», «Право на жизнь», «Равенство всех перед законом», «Равенство мужчин и женщин», «ответственность несовершеннолетних», и другие. 

Этот проект имеет продуманную, отточенную программу с 7-ми годами опыта, и она может быть использована в юридических вузах и школах по всему Казахстану.